Skip to content

What about branding?

August 21, 2015

A little oil pastel from my sketchbook

A little oil pastel from my sketchbook

There is a lot of great advice available to artists for developing a brand. Some examples:

Cultivating Your Brand as an Artist

How to Create a Strong Brand for Yourself and Your Art    

What Picasso Knew

The Brand of You

A big part of branding is having a consistent style—to make it easier for a gallery to market your work, perhaps to make it easier for collectors to recognize your work, and as a way to stay committed to and focused on an approach to making your art that has a recognized audience. Some would argue that pursuing a consistent style forces you, as an artist, to work through problems that ultimately improve your work.

I haven’t quite wrapped my head or my paintbrush around this concept. I think because it flies in the face of the creative base from which art is made. Creativity isn’t necessarily about being consistent. It’s more about exploring, imagining, and testing ideas. I do understand the importance of a consistent style for marketing and finding buyers/collectors, but I don’t think having consistency as a goal supports the adventure.

I put together a little snapshot (a few pieces) of the continuum of my adventure so far, chronological, but a range of media and sizes. I like to think that I am the “consistency” in the work. I would say spend half your time being consistent and the other half exploring ideas, different media, and different styles. You can sneak them into your consistent style.

Starting from 8 years ago

From eight years ago to about six years ago: more representational oils to abstract acrylic washes…

Moving toward more abstract

Around five years ago to three years ago: love of red, mandalas, and tape…

Ending with my most recent work

Two years ago to the present, black and white checks, mark-making, and number portraits…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mikki Aronoff permalink
    August 22, 2015 7:44 am

    Nice. Speaking of mark-making, Beverly turned me on to a nice book, which I got, and which you can borrow if you wish! “Calligraphy: A Book of Contemporary Inspiration” by Denise Lach (check it out on Amazon).

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    • August 23, 2015 10:56 am

      Mikki, thanks for suggesting Lach’s book–I would love to see it in person! I Googled her and got to see a bunch of images from the book–fascinating densities and flow of “calligraphy.” I think her work steps way beyond calligraphy in the traditional sense and just becomes art.

      Like

Leave a Reply

