Skip to content

Overstimming and indulging in artistic headbanging

July 23, 2015
Canyon Walls - oil pastel on paper from my sketchbook

Canyon Walls – oil pastel on paper from my sketchbook

Do you remember the old movie about the newly-created robot who constantly said, “Need input, Stephanie, need input”? (Short Circuit, I think). I believe that we, as humans, will always seek more input—but when do we contemplate the input we have already accumulated? Or are we just on a path of overstimulation so that we are just caught up in stuff streaming by, and we don’t attempt to make any sense of it? Like playing video games on our iPads or phones for hours, following Facebook, or watching TV that begins to substitute for real life.

So where or how does that reflect the making of art? I wonder whether, as artists, we begin to apply that same propensity for distraction to artmaking (too many art self-help books?).

We forget to go back to the core—our internal, basic reason for making this stuff in the first place. So my suggestion is to tune out so you can tune in…to your own underlying interests. Explore them and develop them into something that satisfies on a core level. Limit the number of new techniques, new products, and exposure to other artists and see what comes up (or out).

Free Flight

Free Flight

18 x 25, mixed media on paper

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2015 4:47 pm

    You are so right. I know this is what I really need to do in order to move forward with my art … Tune out to clear the air so imagination has room to take root!

    Like

    • July 24, 2015 3:44 pm

      Well put, Deb! I think my imagination gets stuck in all of the stuff I “collect” and I forget what I was really after…

      Like

  2. July 23, 2015 4:50 pm

    Loving the depth, colors and movement in Free Flight and the seemingly spontaneity of this piece!

    Like

  3. July 24, 2015 3:45 pm

    Thanks, Deb. I appreciate your comments! It was a fun piece to create because I started with a black gessoed background–so different than starting with white. It was definitely spontaneous.

    Like

Leave a Reply

