Skip to content

Re-investing in an idea

February 20, 2015

Sketching some ideas about triangles

Sketching some ideas about triangles

 

Lots of ideas are floating around (a plug here for storing ideas in a sketchbook to be retrieved when the doldrums hit), but nothing is really getting me going. So I think it’s a good idea to do something that I like just to play, to get myself back into “artmaking headspace.”

Normally I work in layers with organic shapes, but I painted three geometric pieces awhile back when I was stuck and wanted to do something different. Here’s one of the three:

"Red" black/white/gray gesso, acrylic on paper 9x32

“Red”; black/white/gray gesso; acrylic on paper; 9×32

 

…fun to tape off sections and just start building patterns by painting with gray, black, or white gesso. The red acrylic was a little accent that I added last. Since I had some small squares of the same paper, I used basically the same process to play around, but with more random alignment of shapes within each small square:

Two studies based on earlier series; black/white/gray gesso on paper; each piece is 7.5×7.5 

 

Sanded surface of small study, to create more textural interest

Sanded surface of small study, to create more textural interest

These looked more interesting to me than the first set…so I took the idea a bit further and started sanding the surface after painting so it would not be so tidy. Here’s are two of the small squares, one with the addition of a collage piece:

I’ll work on these some more and see where they go…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Gary Gima permalink
    February 21, 2015 7:42 pm

    I really like your little geometric patterns and little square renderings, being an engineer myself, I appreciate angles, lines, etc., and the black and white with that little hit of red is exquisite… I think I may know what inspired some of these… hmmm… 🙂

    Like

    • February 23, 2015 6:53 pm

      Gary,
      Thanks for your very nice comments! And, yes, angles, lines…patterns are something I really love, especially in black and white. That must be the intersection for art and engineering??

      Like

Trackbacks

  1. No expectations | Getting Unstuck in the Studio

Leave a Reply

