Skip to content

The gap between thinking…and creating

February 15, 2015
...a painting done over an old painting as part of a workshop exercise

Trees…a painting done over an old painting as part of a workshop exercise

I have been kind of scattered the past few months. A little too much in my head, which wasn’t joining up with the rest of me in the studio. I do love thinking, puzzling out ways of making art, reasons for making art, and speculating about the fuel that propels me. But sometimes that intellectual process substitutes for the nitty gritty of making art. What has been helping me lately is setting deadlines.

Deadlines for finishing specific pieces help push me through the hesitation or fear that a piece may not turn out the way I was expecting, and help keep me going rather than getting stuck (very important if you are a terminal procrastinator like me). Of course it’s important to believe your own deadlines.  I do that by matching them to submissions for shows or finding other external mile markers.

I found this statement by JOSH SUNDQUIST in Fear.less May 2011 that resonates for me:

 “Determination is the result of desire. If you are pursuing a goal and find it too frustrating or discouraging, there’s a chance that the goal is simply something you don’t care enough about.  That’s not to say you ought to sit around and say, “Let me just find something else to do with my life” but if the “how” of accomplishing your goal feels too large, it might be the “why” of that goal is too small. The sense of discouragement may be the result of insufficient emotional reasons behind the project, and determination is founded on those emotional reasons. What backs up determination is the realization that frustration and discouragement are normal. At the start of a new and challenging endeavor it’s easy to think, “I’m going to be super successful the first time out, it’s going to be awesome!” But there is always disappointment. Genuine preparation involves accepting that things are going to go wrong and deciding to get up from each fall until you cross the finish line. A key part of determination is making a conscious effort to persevere in the face of adversity.”

 

...from my sketchbook

…from my sketchbook

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

