Skip to content

When you’re stuck…clean your studio

March 18, 2012

oil pastel sketchbook drawing of what clutter looks like

I am not a particularly tidy person. In fact, a lot of the time, I am surrounded by piles of paper scraps, little plastic containers for paint or gel medium mixed with color, cradled panels in various states of preparation for collage or painting, scattered brushes, palette knives, scissors, etc. So when I’m between things and kind of stuck, I try to make my studio a better place to create. I get more cradled panels ready to work on, varnish the ones that are done (UV coating for collage—very important!), clean up the yucky brushes that got overlooked somewhere along the line, touch up paintings that still need something fixed or added, and put stuff back where it belongs.  Picture of the artist's studio in the midst of work and accumulated mess

I don’t really like doing any of this, but the act of cleaning, organizing, and preparing materials unclutters my mind and helps me refresh my vision for different pieces that are in the works. And I’m still in my studio, which makes me feel productive. When I’m done, the place looks ready, anticipatory…a good place to be. (I don’t have a picture of that step…)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gary Gima permalink
    March 18, 2012 8:00 pm

    I totally agree with you. It is good to “unclutter your space” because really that simple act unclutters your mind as well. Less things to distract you from your thinking process. Less distraction equals more room for imagination and creativity.

    I need to clean my garage…it’s ruining my “chi”…

    Like

  2. March 18, 2012 8:10 pm

    Gary–you made me laugh when you said you needed to clean your garage! It is so true, isn’t it, that clutter weighs us down. Even worse that it distracts us from what we want to do. Good luck with your garage! …and thanks for your comment.

    Rebecca

    Like

Leave a Reply

