Skip to content

Just enough time

February 5, 2012

oil pastel sketch from artist's sketchbook with a suspended moonHey, here is a right-to-the-point message about getting out of your own way from fear.less magazine:

“Do it. Whatever ‘it’ is.

Now is the time.

There are times when you MUST do something before you can move on. Before you can build better things or feel at peace with yourself.

You may not know what it looks like or you may know exactly what it looks like. It doesn’t matter. What matters is that the time has come and you’re tired of avoiding. Tired of thinking about it. Because buying more time also buys you more pain, and you know that.

So you’re afraid to do what you need to do. You’re restless, your heart and mind are totally uncomfortable, yet you still don’t do it.

Don’t be afraid now. You’ve already been there and it’s time to try something new. Time to put your heart at rest and get relief, some reward for your effort and striving.

Now is the time….”

I love this message—just what I needed to hear! Maybe.

I am learning to be a little cautious in reading pep talks that are meant to get me moving and creating. I am trying to stay away from the “quick fix,” the instant inspiration, the cheerleader-to-artist dialogue that gets me pumped up, but doesn’t really challenge me to develop some insight into how I work. So when I read that “Now is the time,” I get anxious. Time, pace, and the quantity of work that I produce are my own little nightmare, and what I think right now about my process (and the time it takes to do something) is that it is SLOW. Slow, interrupted, never enough of it…time.

So I plan to disregard time. I am redefining the pace of making art for me so that I don’t feel so out of time and out of step. I think it is important to muffle outside influences sometimes and dig into your own ideas about how you should be working. I should mention that this only works if you don’t have a deadline, and I don’t right now.

Along those lines I’ve been playing with little oil pastel sketches (from my sketchbook) in Photoshop: finding visual links between different drawings, lining them up in series. Maybe there are some possibilities for paintings…or collages…or?? Well, I don’t quite know yet. But to take away the importance of the single image and think in terms of a series creates a continuum of content that I quite like.

Selection of small oil pastel sketches

2 Comments leave one →
  1. G. Gima permalink
    February 5, 2012 9:14 pm

    Hi Rebecca, I think you make a very good point in that we should do things in “our” own timeframe, not one that is subjected upon us artificially by society, the media, the day’s events, our kids, or even our iPod. I think if we let it, we can literally get “lost” in the day to day events of life. Some people don’t the luxury of “time”, but most of us, if we make a concerted effort, can make the time to just about anything, like walk the dog. But the bottom line is as you mentioned… you need to just “start”. Like I tell my kids, “just do it”, no excuses. It may not turn out how you like it, but can’t do it better next time, if you never did it the first time.

    I also like you idea of putting together similar images from you work, the common thread that invariably links all your work together. I wonder sometimes if the great artists of all time did that? Or did they just happen to paint the same scene because that is where they lived and that’s all the color paint they had that year. But, it is interesting to think that there may be a link to all your work that is a manifestation of something that is deep within you that comes out in your work. Perhaps even if it is a small, minute brush stroke that is significant to a major event in your life that somehow guides your hand…

    I really enjoy your blog. It’s a very interesting perspective on the struggle to be creative, if creativity is a struggle to begin with…

    Cheers, g

    Like

  2. February 6, 2012 4:55 pm

    Thank you for such a thoughtful response, “g.” I think that’s one thing we don’t learn in modern society: how to shape time to our own needs. So “starting” (without an urgent time constraint) also means focusing more on the process and not on the outcome, maybe? I often wonder myself how great artists worked. Some of them did write about how they approached making art, but I think art history puts more importance on TITLE. ARTIST, DATE…and not so much on how the artist worked. Too bad because that would be interesting.

    Glad you like my blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

